Changing Plans

My plan for the day was to go see my little sister at lunch and go to ballet after work.  Well . . . I got a phone call right as I was about to go to visit her that gave me some news (can’t disclose it just yet, it’s not earth-shattering, but still upsetting), so I decided to forgo my visit (since I’d be preoccupied) and met up with M for some lunch.  We had Chinese.  I got pork and veggies in garlic brown sauce with brown rice.  Ate half of it, so I have the second half for lunch tomorrow.  And then I had my subway sandwich (which was supposed to be lunch before I broke down while pouring my drink) for dinner.

So I decided that I wanted to be “alone” for exercise tonight.  My plans changed from ballet to running and Centergy class at the gym.  I took the yoga mat out of the closet (hasn’t been used in about three years):

And made my way to the gym.  I ran 2.5 miles!  Warmed up with walking 0.25 miles at 3.5 mph, ran 1.0 miles at 5.3, walked 0.25 miles at 3.5 mph, ran 0.6 miles with intervals (5.3, 5.6, 5.9, repeat), walked 0.15 miles, and ran another 1.0 at 5.3.  I powered through that last one!  I just kept thinking what I read on Caitlin’s blog “Pain is temporary.  Quitting is forever.”  I felt great afterwards!  I really do see the results of my fitness push!  Stats from the run: 48 minutes, 448 calories, 182 max HR, and 152 avg HR.

Then I decided to try Centergy.  It’s very similar to the Body Flow class that I took at my old gym at VT: a mix of tai chi, pilates, and yoga.  It was actually a bit difficult, although I’m pretty sore from training yesterday and I had just run 2.5 miles.  So my heart rate stayed more elevated than I though it would.  Stats from class: 56 minutes, 465 calories, 162 max HR, 138 avg HR.

This evening I decided to have a bit of a treat (I did just burn 900 calories!) and made some sugar-free, fat-free instant chocolate pudding (adding some snowflake sprinkles to be festive).

Posted on December 3, 2009, in Just Me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

