Can you ever just be whelmed?

“You can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?”

“I think you can in Europe.”

Name the movie!

I am feeling totally overwhelmed right now.  I feel like everything is hitting at once.  First of all, I am taking the Professional Engineering exam April 16, 2010.  This is a MAJOR undertaking, to say the least,  similar to the bar exam. And recently the pass rate has been decreasing, causing my company to be very concerned with how people study.  There is also some personal/life goal stuff that is being affected by my brother’s deployment.  I just feel like I have no control over my life right now.  It (and my family’s lives) are in other’s people’s hands.  

I just need to remember to focus on what I CAN control, and not what I can’t.   

I’m a list maker.  I love lists.  I used to make grocery lists in class when I was bored.  (I mean, I also totally paid attention and took notes . . . .)  So when I’m feeling overwhelmed, I make a list.  Inspired by Caitlin’s recent post, here is my to do list for the short term:

I actually had it written down on a piece of paper, but M has borrowed my camera for work today.  Also, another thing would be crossed off, but I realized that I’m out of stamps (thus I added “buy stamps” to the list).

Another strategy of mine is to make a schedule.  I did this when I was studying for the GRE.  Of course that was only about 2 weeks, whereas the PE will go over 4 months (15 weeks actually).  So I have made a study calendar (typical week):

If I follow this schedule for 15 weeks, I will have studied EXACTLY 300 hours.  The current recommendation is 300-500 hours.  I must also mention, that I am going to a reduced schedule (4 days per week), upon the recommendation of my supervisor.  I can afford this (although notice that “budget” is on my to do list), and decided that something had to give for me to accomplish my studying.  That “something” was work.  I am choosing to maintain my personal life throughout this process, and so work (and my paycheck) will be sacrificed.  I like to say that “I 20% quit my job!”

My other concern regarding this schedule is “Where do I exercise?” I have tried to add in tap and jazz (ballet will probably be put on the back burner).  M and I (he’s studying for the exam as well) are NOT morning people.  So we have decided to study in the evenings.  We could perhaps add gym in after studying.  Or I could add a morning workout here and there.  That might be the best for me.  At my office, it’s a lot easier to come in late than leave early.  Hmmm . . . where do we study and how do we eat food?  SEE OVERWHELMED!!

As far as where, we are looking into using the study rooms at the library.  Our home will remain our home, and thus we need to study elsewhere.  We could also use small conference rooms at work.

For food, I’m very much considering buying a crock pot.  We could have dinner waiting for us.  I don’t want to rely to heavily on frozen prepared foods and/or fast food.  That’s just asking for fat to be added to my waistline.

What are other people’s studying or time mangement strategies?  How do you handle feeling overwhelmed?

P.S. While I was at my mom’s, I found some pictures of me when I was little in other other weddings.  So I’ve updated my Always a Bridesmaid page.  I just like showing how cute I used to be!

P.P.S  Our receptionist just stopped me in the hallway to tell me that I’m looking good!  And all of that running is really working for me!  HOORAY!! “Remember the compliments you receive; forget the insults”

Posted on December 8, 2009, in Time Management, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Didn’t even read the blog yet, just wanted to beat everyone to the punch. CLUELESS CLUELESS CLUELESS!!!!! says the girl that owns two copies 😛

  2. 10 Things I Hate About You! It’s one of my favorite lines from that movie- right up there with:
    – I like my Sketchers, but I love my Prada backpack.
    – I love my sketchers.
    – That’s because you don’t have a Prada backpack.

  3. 10 Things I hate about you! Probably my favorite Heath Ledger movie!

    Let me know if you want some good crock pot recipes. I have a whole crockpot cookbook that I love 🙂

  4. I was going to say 10 things too! I just watched that again recently, actually…I love that movie! 🙂

  5. Take your study materials to the gym and ride the bike. I did that with my insurance stuff (immensely less intense and intellectual than your engineering stuff, I’m sure) and it really helped. Plus, if you do gym AND study in the morning, there’s no chance you’ll fall asleep or get distracted with your studying. =)

  6. Study with a calculator. Know the AASHTO Bridge Manual forwards and backwards. Know how to do a retaining wall with any type of soil, induced pressure due to a road, and with both active and passive pressure. And no matter how much you study, be prepared to go “WTF?!?!?!?!?” when you read some of the questions…. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

