Big Easy Slow Cooker Norleans Style

After working a bit and studying yesterday (and maybe munching a bit too much on the mini-clif bars in the desk drawer), I didn’t have much of an appetite for dinner.  So I just made a simple little snacky dinner of corn, black beans, and the all natural guacamole.  Seriously, I could eat guacamole straight out of the container.

I decided to try one of the slow cooker recipes that my friend, Lee, had given me, in order to have some food in the house.  I chose the “Chicken New Orleans” since it sounded pretty healthy and Matt might eat some of it.  I made a few changes, but pretty much followed it:

2 – 0.9 oz. packages bearnaise sauce mix

1/2 c. dry white wine

1/2 tsp tarragon

1/2 tsp ground gurmeric

1/2 tsp garlic powder (I used garlic salt, since I couldn’t find the garlic powder at home)

3 shallots, minced (again forgot the shallots, so threw in some dried minced onions)

1 lb. cooked ham, cut into 1-in. chunks (used canadian bacon instead)

1 red bell pepper, chopped (used red, yellow and green, will show later how I “snuck” them in)

1 lb. red potatoes, scrubbed and cut into 1/2-in. cubes

1-9 oz package of frozen artichoke halves and quarters, thawed (couldn’t find frozen, so used a drained can of them)

1 lb. skinless chicken breast tenders (used the whole 1.33 lb package)

  1. Turn slow cooker on high setting while preparing ingredients.  Combine wine, bearnaise sauce mixes, tarragon, turmeric, and garlic powder until well blended.  Add shallots, ham, red pepper, artichokes, and chicken.  Stir gently.
  2. Cover, reudce heat setting to low and cook 6 hours.

So we all know how Matt doesn’t like onions or peppers (I don’t understand it), so I took a play out of the “Deceptively Delicious” playbook and pureed green, yellow and red peppers using my mini-cuisinart.

Isn’t it cute?  Of course I had to do half a pepper each time, but the colors of the puree were beautiful!

I will post the final picture of it tomorrow.  I forgot my camera cord at work.

I had it for lunch today.  It was okay.  I feel like it was missing something.  Although the chicken was delicious and very tender.   Suggestions for something to add? Cajun? Garlic?

After dinner we broke out the new Wii Fit Plus.  I can see why people are unsure as to the effectiveness of it.  I did enjoy the hula hooping, the flying, and DEFINITELY THE YOGA!  I think if I added some height to the board, the step could be a nice little cardio too.  I plan on using the Wii Fit Plus as a supplement to my other exercises (like strength training at the gym).  It will be very useful for when I can’t make it to the gym.  Like after PE studying when the gym is closed.

Posted on January 5, 2010, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Stephen detests onions and peppers too! How odd is that?

    Can’t wait to read about the “sneaking in” of the veggies.

  2. Great, now I’m going to dream about guacamole LOL 😛 Looks really good. I still haven’t moved into slow cooker territory yet so I’m jealous!!! I feel like it might end up sitting in my cubboard next to my food processor. Maybe one day when I have a real kitchen.

  3. Hmm, I like the idea of adding garlic and cajun spices. Chris and I frequently have to add extra spices when we cook because we like very flavorful food. Subbing canadian bacon for ham was a great idea!

    • Lee, I added some cajun spices, salt and pepper to it for lunch today. Tastes pretty good now! Matt even ate some last night (so long as I picked out the artichokes). I think the tender chicken is the best part. Thanks for the recipes.

      • I was happy to send them over…and it’s fun to read your comments on them. You’ve definitely given me some good ideas. If I find any more winners I’ll send them your way!

  1. Pingback: Who cut the cheese(cake)? « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

