Some Like It Hot

Some like it hot

Some like it cold

Some like it in the pot, nine days old!

Well, I’ve discovered that I do NOT like hot oatmeal.  Although I don’t really like it 9 days old either.  Ha!  Nope, I like it lukewarm.  Here’s my breakfast for the past two days:

PB&J Oatmeal!  All natural PB and all natural fruit strawberry spread (two little spoonfuls in the picture, although they look like different colors).  SOO GOOD!  And surprisingly my favorite bites had jelly in it (not the peanut butter!)  I guess I just have a sweet tooth!

Spent Friday at the library with my Timber books!  Took a break around 1pm and went down to the cafe to buy an apple, which I cut up and dipped in the peanut butter that I had brought with me.  (Oops, two peanut butter meals in one day, oh well!)

I went to the gym around 5pm and made sure to do a circuit that KICKED MY BUTT! I ended up only doing it twice (as opposed to three times), partially due to some time constraints and partially because my arms felt like they were going to fall off!  Since it was such a good one, I’ll post it:

  • Pull ups 12X (I take away 90lbs of my body weight)
  • Romanian dead lift, 50 lbs, 12X
  • Smith machine squats, 50 lbs, 12X
  • Side and front planks, 60 seconds each
  • Punch and pull with the cables (one arm punching, one arm pulling, then switch), 40 lbs, 12X each side
  • Single arm tricep cable pull down, 27.5 lbs, 12X
  • Front and side lateral raises, 10 lbs, 12X each
  • Seated bicep curls, 15lbs, 12X each arm
  • Front and side knee ups on bench, 12X each leg, each side

Yeah, my arms were dying after the second round.  So in lieu of doing a third time, I did a bunch of ab exercises.  Today my hamstrings, triceps, delts, and ABS (YAY!) are sore!  WAHOO!!

Matt and I decided to use his $25 gift card for Olive Garden for our date.  I had the shrimp & asparagus rissoto

I was in the mood for something cheesy, but I wasn’t expecting the sauce/risotto ratio to be so high, so I didn’t eat it all.

Matt had their new four cheese raviolis, and I thought they looked funny, so I took a picture:

While we were waiting for our waiter to bring the check, we decided to play with our leftover food.  We were wondering if the dishwashers might think that 5 year olds were sitting at our table:

After dinner we wandered around Barnes & Noble to kill some time.  We found a book of southern/country sayings (some of which Matt’s grandmom actually uses!).  I liked the one about living together before you’re married:  “They ate their dinner before saying grace.”

We had to kill some time, since we were going to go see “Leap Year”.  It was okay.  There were some funny parts, but there were a few times when the writing was BAAAAD!  Plus it was obviously predictable.  Thank goodness it didn’t focus TOO much on the “woman pressuring the man to get engaged” aspect.  That hits a bit close to home! 😉

Another busy day of studying today.  Finished with masonry, steel, and wood.  Onto concrete, prestressed, AASHTO and seismic.  Not so great at the eating today.  Started with more PB&J oatmeal, then snacked on a banana and fiber one bar.  Another snack of chocolate pudding at the library.  Then Wendys (gasp!) for dinner.  I had the kids chicken nuggets and a FREE kiddie frosty (we had some coupons that needed to be used). At least afterward we went to the grocery and I stocked up on some more GREAT foods!  I think grocery shopping makes me happy and feel optimistic about eating well for the week.

Time to relax for the evening.

Posted on January 23, 2010, in Food, Weight lifting. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love my oats steaming hot so the almond butter/ peanut butter gets all melty and delicious!

    That risotto looks ridiculously good!!

  2. That looks like a hardcore workout. I love the assisted weight pull up machine because I’m a weakling, and I can’t do pull ups on my own.

    I’ve had that shrimp risotto dish at Olive Garden. I really liked it, but I could only eat a small bit since it was so rich.

Leave a Reply

