Flashback Friday: SNOW CAN BE FUN!

Argh!  BUSY BUSY!  I worked 14.5 hours yesterday, and didn’t get home until 11:45pm!  So I took today off and relaxed.  Although I did take a minute to go to the gym.  I saw my trainer there, so thank goodness I went!

Anyway, not much to report, so I’m going to do a “Flashback Friday”.  Given that it’s back to being bitter cold in Boston, I’m trying to remember the fun that the snow and cold can be.  Two years ago I spent three months in Idaho Falls on a work assignment.  I learned what REAL cold is.  My snot would freeze in my nose while walking between our trailer and the job site.   One day the temperature was -30 degrees with a windchill of -60!  Of course that was the day that our heat stopped working in the trailer!  It was 30 degreees (which was 60 degrees warmer than outside but still FREAKING COLD!) .  While I was there I took full advantage of the surrounding area.  I never had any desire to go out west, but I’m so glad that I took the opportunity to see the beauty of the west.

My first weekend there I went up to Yellowstone.  I highly recommend going there in the winter.  First of all there wasn’t 1,000’s of people standing around Old Faithful.

They don’t plow the roads, so we had to take a snow cat in to the lodge where I was staying.

This thing sat about 10 people.

On the way in, we took a long tour of the park with stops along the way, including these falls.

Another great thing about this little weekend trip was learning that you shouldn’t be afraid to do things on your own.  I met some great people there.  I had dinner with two guys from Chicago and lunch with two women from Montana.

My other activity that I loved to do while I was out west in winter was SKIING!  I hadn’t skied since I was about 15 years old.  And even that was just at a little mountain with fake snow in Southern Indiana.  I took a 90 minute drive up to Targhee and took a skiing lesson.  Western skiing is AWESOME!!  And it’s so much easier than back east.  I would also like to credit my 20 years of dancing experience in helping me with keeping my balance while going down the hill.

Don’t I look like a professional?  My goggles were actually free at the ski shop.  I went in to rent some and they just gave these to me (since someone was going to throw them out).  HA!

Another great thing about Targhee is the view at the top.

Yup, those are the Grand Tetons!

Moral of the story:  don’t be afraid to get out there and do stuff, even if you have to go by yourself.  Also, if you’re going to be stuck in the cold, find some fun outdoor activities.

Posted on January 29, 2010, in Just Me. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That skiing mountain looks gorgeous! I love skiing out west (I’ve only been in Colorado). It definitely beats skiing in Indiana! Were you speaking of Paoli Peaks? I’ve so been there!

  2. Nope, we would go to Perfect North, which is about 30-45 minutes away from Cincinnati!

Leave a Reply

