Accentuate the Postive

Eliminate the negative!  Latch on to the affirmative!  Don’t mess with Mr. In-Between!

So here are my joys from the week:

  • Wednesday I met with my trainer.  The first move was seated rows.  She had me lifting 75 lbs.  Each time I did it, I thought to myself “Wow, that’s a really heavy weight!” Of course, I could do it, but still, it was heavy. I finally said something to her after the third round and she replied, “Yeah, I’m moving you up to the weights that I normally do.”  WOO-HOO!!  Granted, I outweigh her by at least 30 pounds, but still, I’m liking how strong I’m getting.
  • Today I went to the doctor.  When I was there two weeks ago, my blood pressure was 120/80.  I was a bit disappointed, so this morning I made sure to breathe deeply while I made my way back to the exam room.  TA DA!  100/60!  I love having low blood pressure.  Both of my parents have low blood pressure, so it’s a lot of genetics.  But I’d also like to think that my healthy-er lifestyle has helped!
  • I studied at home today and for the most part stayed on task.  The only down fall was that I kept munching . . . a lot.  I discovered the new Vanilla Almond shredded wheat.  The ingredients actually aren’t so bad.  Although I probably shouldn’t eat like 2-3 bowls!  Anyway, I decided to keep dinner light, so at Bugaboo Steakhouse (did I mention that I don’t eat red meat), I had a salad with grilled chicken, almonds, and cranberries.

And I ate only half of it, so I can have lunch tomorrow!  (I was seriously full from my cereals!)

So fruits and veggies today: banana, 2 servings each of black beans and corn, lettuce, cranberries. I could probably stand to eat some carrots if I’m hungry later.

  • And our other adventure of the night was stopping at the furniture store around the corner that’s having a liquidation sale.  We’ve been on the hunt for a new sofa for over a year.  The problem is finding one that we both like.  Matt is all about comfort (“I want to be able to rest my head on the arms”) and I’m all about style.  We may have found something.  It looks pretty nice in the picture.

I am very anti-puffy sofas, since it reminds me of people’s basements back in high school.  But this collection photographed very well.  Even in the bad lighting of a furniture store basement.

And best of all, look at the price for the 3-piece set . . hmmm now what to do with some of our current furniture

Ponder ponder ponder.  Not at all about a healthy lifestyle.  But this has been on our to do list for a while!  And I’m interested in furniture selection/buying opinions.

Posted on February 5, 2010, in Eating Out, Just Me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good job on the working with your trainer! That’s awesome 🙂

    I love the idea of accentuating the positives. I think everyone should do that at the end of their day. We’d all sleep a little better 🙂

Leave a Reply

