Let there be cupcakes!

I realized that two of my foods today were cupcake-like (okay, one of them was actually a cupcake!)

Woke up at 6am for training.  I swear, my body knows that I HAVE to wake up early and sleep is elusive.  Oh well, I think I did okay.  And my stats for the training session were great:  49 minutes, 415 calories, 207 max HR, 150 avg HR.  The high heart rate is probably due in part to this move:

TURKISH GET UP!! (source)   I did it with only a 6 pound weight and 10X each side, HOLY COW IS IT HARD!

After the session, I fueled up with two mini-quiches (IN CUPCAKE FOILS!)

At work we were having a bake sale to benefit the breast cancer 3-D, so here was my dessert after lunch:

HOW DELICIOUS DOES IT LOOK!?!  It tasted even better!

Did you hear about the giant snow storm that was supposed to hit the east coast? The kids were getting out of school early.  Work went on “snow policy”.  My mom called at lunch to inform me that her flight to California tomorrow (to see my brother off to his deployment for seven months!), was CANCELED.  She was freaking out (obviously), and asked my advice about how to get the airline to listen to her.  I have had my share of canceled flights (too many tears at the airport).   I told her to go to the airport and make them listen to her reason for traveling.  Luckily, it got worked out.  Now she’s flying out of Boston Friday morning (meaning we have two houseguests tomorrow night).

Anyway, how much snow?  When I left work at 9pm (11 hours today, woohoo!), we had a dusting.  That was about it.  Glad they canceled all of those flights!?!  SO FRUSTRATING!

And on a total different note, guess what came from Amazon today?

YAY! SLOW COOKER RECIPES!  Can’t wait to try some of these out.

Well, the house is clean (our bathroom was gross), and finishing up Ugly Betty.

Maybe I should eat more foods in cupcake shapes . . . what is one of your favorite baked goods?

Posted on February 10, 2010, in Baking, Food, Weight lifting. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ahhhh the TGU. not something i’ve dabbled in personally (just not in the schedule yet) but definitely a goodie.

    And as per always, a link 🙂
    http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/the_best_exercise_youre_not_doing

  2. I think my favorite baked good is pie! Does that count? I could eat my weight in pie…seriously! When it comes that dessert (apple, cherry, blueberry, pecan, pumpkin…I do not discriminate) I can GO TO TOWN! haha!

  3. Ok, I had to laugh at this Turkish Get Up move. I’ve definitely never seen that before, and it looks intense! It appears to be quite complicated, too! That is a lot of steps for one exercise!

    • Looks complicated, but basically, lie flat with the dumbbell raised to ceiling. Stand up while keeping it vertical, and then lay back down. TA DA! Definitely gets the heart rate up, although you might look a bit silly.

Leave a Reply

