Best. Date. Ever.

Two years ago, while visiting Vegas, Matt and I had a wonderful date.  We ate dinner “outside” at the Wynn, saw “Spamalot” (HYSTERICAL), walked the strip (seeing the fountains at the Bellagio), and ended with Ben & Jerry’s!!

Tonight rivaled that night at first, and then blew it out of the water.

Starting at the beginning.  We went to P. F. Chang’s for dinner.  Both of us thought that we’d only been there once before and it was at least 5 years ago.  I decided to be adventurous and try the coconut curry with TOFU!

Still unsure on the texture, but I didn’t gag.

Then we headed over to the Boston Opera House for “The Lion King”.

Holy cow!  What an absolutely amazing show!  I actually teared up as the “Circle of Life” started and all of the animals walked in.  We were sitting in the tenth row, so we got to see all of the facial expressions of the actors and the mechanics of the puppets up close.  My favorite costumes were the hyenas and leopard.  I was also amazed at how the lion faces would be above the head of the actor and then SUDDENLY in front of it.  Matt’s favorite costume was the giraffe.  I was also happy that they kept to the script of the movie.  All of the silly jokes were in there with Timon and Pumbaa.  Well with one exception: the “what do you want me to do?  dress in drag and do the hula?”  They changed it to “charleston”.  So I had to come home and sing the original song for Matt.

There were lots of kids there.  I couldn’t help but think that the original movie was way older than the four year old in front of us.  I remember seeing the movie in the theater in 1994.  Such a big part of childhood.

Anyway, the show was seriously incredible (as I knew it would be). I saw the commercials for it back in November and thought “Matt would enjoy that”, and then TA-DA!  He got me these great tickets for Christmas!

After the show we made our way over to Finale for dessert.   Matt got a hot chocolate (since the silly boy forgot his mittens and was a bit cold).

We shared the pudding parfait with warm chocolate chip cookies

and hot fudge sundae.

There wasn’t anything on the menu with peanut butter and chocolate, however AFTER we ate, I saw a peanut butter cupcake and whoopie pie in the pastry case.  Next time . . . next time.

You would think that was where this BEST DATE EVER ends, right?  Yeah, not so much.

It was midnight and time to start heading home.  We were walking over to our car in the Boston Common garage.  Matt puts his arm around me, starts to tell me how much he loves me, then stops, pulls me to stop me, and drops to one knee.

Yup, WE’RE ENGAGED!  How pretty is this ring?  He knows how much I love blue and sapphires, so they are the accent stones.  I also like to think about how sapphires/blue represent love and faithfulness.  OH SO SHINY!

Since we got engaged at midnight, I couldn’t call anyone.  I promised my mom that she would be the first person I tell.  However, I did send my brother (who is currently in Kyrgyzstan or Afghanistan) a facebook message, in case he is still able to get online.  If not, he won’t know the official news for a month or two.

My mom was coming for dinner Saturday night, and I told Matt that we should focus on studying and not calling people all day Saturday.  Then tell my mom when she showed up and break the news to everyone else.  Matt didn’t think that I could wait ALL DAY, so I said “CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!”

HARDEST DAY OF MY LIFE!!  It was so weird knowing that we were engaged, but no one else knew it.  We stopped studying early (4pm) and came home to call his family.  I don’t know which was more frustrating:  watching Purdue struggle with Illinois at basketball, or listening to Matt try to get the attention of his mom and sisters who were more focused on their drink orders at Sonic than anything he wanted to say.  I JUST WANTED TO TELL SOMEONE!

Anyway, everyone who needs to know (and be told by phone / in person) is in the know now, so I can put it on my blog. (And more importantly, make it official on facebook!)

Posted on February 21, 2010, in Engagement. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. HAHAH! I LOLd at “And more importantly, make it official on facebook.” Amazing. Congrats again, lady. =)

  2. Congratulations! Beautiful ring!

  3. Beautiful ring! (and the food looks good too!) We saw Lion King in October–really enjoyed it-had a nice evening–but not as exciting as yours! (sorry, Jan)

  4. Awww… congrats!! We saw Lion King in NY in November and I totally cried during the first song as well. It was just breath-taking! As, by the way, is your beautiful ring! What a great night for ya’ll… engagement is such a fun and exciting time so enjoy it!!!

  5. Oh, and we LOVE PF Changs– we always get the Mongolian beef and crispy honey shrimp. There’s lots of other good stuff, of course. And their chocolate cake is fantastic! Mmmmm…

  6. Congrats Anne! I’m so excited for you!

  7. Eeeee! I love hearing your description of how he proposed.. you know Matt, I can never get any kind of details like that from him.

  8. OH MY GOODNESS!!! YAY! YAY! YAY!! I am so thrilled for you! Now you can be the “fit bride” and the the ring is fabulous! 🙂

  9. How did I miss this? I was reading your most recent post, and saw the link to this wonderful engagment post! Congrats!!!

  1. Pingback: I can ski jump! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  2. Pingback: acCOUNTability « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  3. Pingback: Quality Reading (?) « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  4. Pingback: 2010 Resolutions, Mid-Year Check-In « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  5. Pingback: Hey Mr. D.J. « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  6. Pingback: September is here! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  7. Pingback: Rear View Mirror 2010 « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  8. Pingback: Valentines Day Twins « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  9. Pingback: Recreating a Date « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  10. Pingback: Wedding Recap: The Dress « Strawberry Jam Packed Life

Leave a Reply

