What are the kids listening to these days?

I have a “little sister” through Big Brother Big Sister.  She’s eleven.  I visit her once a week during lunch/recess.  Recently we’ve been going to the gymnasium and playing with things like scooters.  The gym also has a sound system and microphone.  She likes to plug the microphone in and give commentary on our adventures.  Last week we decided to play a bunch of the CD’s that were around the sound system.  It was mostly Jock Jams kind of stuff.  She was amazed that I originally had “You Can’t Touch This” on cassette tape!

Anyway, I said that I’d make her a CD of current music for this week’s visit.  Unfortunately, I listen to country (I got annoyed with popular music about 5 years ago), so I had a bunch of Taylor Swift, but not much else.  I had to go searching “Now That’s What I Call Music” for the past year or two to discover “what the kids are listening to.”  How old am I?

I actually did recognize a lot of it.  Here’s my little sister’s playlist that I had for her:

I can’t believe that (a) I have Miley Cyrus on my iTunes now and (b) it’s actually a kind of good song . . .

When the Britney Spears song came on, she said “Oh this is that girl.  You know, the one that shaved her head . . .”  BRITNEY SPEARS!  She is not just that girl, SHE’S BRITNEY SPEARS!  My how times have changed.  I should also bring in my own CD’s.  My friend and I agreed that, even though it’s 15 years old, the Clueless soundtrack is still very relevant and I should expose my pre-teen sister to it.

What songs do you like that are currently popular?  Any other great songs to rock out to?

Posted on March 4, 2010, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Mildly ashamed that I have most of the songs on that list. Also, Party in the USA is such a guilty pleasure of mine. “Hi, my name is Jan, and I listen to Miley Cyrus”. “hi Jan…”

    Everyone should listen to the Clueless soundtrack. It will never NOT be relevant.

  2. I, too, enjoy Party in the USA, a lot. But I’m with you on the country music, there’s much more to like there.

  3. Lady Gaga…she rocks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

