Financial Stress of the Wedding Kind

Okay, I better slow down this stress, since I have about 14 months to go.  I really should be concentrating on the last five weeks of PE studying, however, I’ve been playing with money to figure out how we’re going to pay for this wedding.

I am very lucky and my mom and dad are BOTH contributing to the wedding fund.  Also, I have a nice little chunk of change saved over the past year.  Still, planning a great party for 250 people AIN’T cheap!  I tried to do a “feasibility study” for different reception venues (I’m such an engineer!), and determine if we should just cross them off immediately or not.  It was seriously stressing me out yesterday.  During my two hour AASHTO review session, I spent about half of it thinking through how I’m going to do this, save money, etc.!!!  Seriously stressed.

I came home and talked to Matt about it, opened up a “wedding” savings account today, and played with the budget more.  I think I’m feeling better.  I think the worst part is the fact that I can’t really make decisions until I visit Cincinnati in May/June.  So I have 2-3 more months of just worrying.

I played with the numbers a bit more today and figured out where we can cut things (Thank goodness we’re doing the ceremony at my hometown church!!), and such.  It’s going to be doable, just tight.

Anyway, I also got a book while we were at the library studying:

(source: Amazon).  This is where we’re thinking of going on our honeymoon.  We’re planning on the wedding being mid May and then going to Lunai.  Apparently, this is the PERFECT time to go to Hawaii.  It’s just after the busy season (mid-Dec through mid-April) and right at great weather in Hawaii.

Matt and I discussed our trip a bit during an impromptu date at Joe’s after studying.  I had two glasses of wine and the spring roll appetizer. (Due to the impromptu-ness of the date, the camera was not brought along.  Imagine something that looks a bit phallic, full of veggies with delicious peanut dipping sauce).

Have you ever been to Hawaii?  Any pointers?

And we have our cruise coming up in 5.5 weeks!  BRING ON THE SUNSHINE!

Posted on March 9, 2010, in Just Me, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Keith and I spent 10 days in Maui for our honeymoona and it was the most AMAZING experience of my life! It was so much fun! I would move to Maui in a heartbeat if we could afford it!

  2. You’ll love Hawaii. My sister and brother in law used for live out there, so I visited as often as I could. Everything is beautiful, the beaches are amazing and everyone is very friendly, especially at the resorts. If you’re interested in going to two islands, then definitely stay in Honolulu for a couple of days. Pearl Harbor is definitely worth seeing and it can be fun to contrast the city life to the more rural resorts.

  3. Just figure out whats important to the two of you when your planning your wedding to help with the budget. The things that aren’t that important you know you can skimp on, and then you know which things you would like to splurge on! That can be really helpful when talking to people because they want you to upgrade everything. Like when I was talking to my cake person I was like “I dont care what it looks like I just want it to taste good” and then she figured out a way to save me $150!
    Budgeting for that many people sucks, but don’t stress! Remember you have 14 months to save!

Leave a Reply

