Cruise Post #1: Embarkation and Day at Sea

Yup, we’re back!  Better get these posts started.  Lots to talk about for a seven day cruise.

I hope that you enjoyed my two little posts while I was gone.  In case you missed them:

Wedding Inspiration Board

How We Met

So let’s see.  We left Hartford (where it was cold and rainy) on Saturday afternoon.  We had a three hour layover in Detroit where we took a few laps of the airport and did an experiment to see which was faster: walking or taking the train in Terminal A.  The train won, FYI.

Anyway, got down to Tampa around 11pm, had to find taxi from the airport to the hotel (since their shuttle was done for the night).

Embarkation Day

We both woke up early on Sunday (early for us is like 8:30am).  Must have been too excited to sleep.  Around noon we caught a shuttle to the Port.  So if you are going on a cruise, I think I would recommend getting there earlier (like we did).  Check in and such took about an hour, and our checked luggage was waiting for us when we got to our stateroom.  Picture of said stateroom:

I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of space.

Now Matt and I, being the dorky structural engineers that we are, figured out that we would have to pass under the Sunshine Skyway Bridge in order to leave Tampa Bay.  They announced that we would be passing under it around 6pm, so we were set up on the top deck with our camera in hand.

Our ship barely made it under.

Fun Day at Sea

We spent the first day on the cruise we trudged along through the Caribbean Sea.  Did you know that cruise ships only go about 20 Knots (about 20 mph)??  No wonder we had to take a full day to get to Grand Cayman.

Here’s the view from my deck chair:

(Can you see my reflection?)

After lounging around for two hours (that’s the longest we could stay out in the sun), we made it to the gym.  I forgot my camera both times we went, sorry! 😦

By the way, we kept up with my rules of going to the gym twice and NEVER (absolutely NEVER) taking the elevator.  We got our little work out.  Our cabin was on the fourth deck.  The buffet (breakfast and lunch) was on the ninth deck.  Upper decks 10 and 11, then the follies (theater) was on the second deck.  The second day my calves were KILLING me!

Anyway, exercised for about 45 minutes.  That was when I could feel the boat moving the most.  Especially doing the side bends up and down . . . it was almost too much.

The first night at sea was dress up night number one.  I wore a nice little hot pink top with my “ho” earrings (background story:  my mom gave me these earrings for Christmas a few years ago and said “Aren’t these those ho earrings you like?” Yes, she called me a ho on Christmas).  Anyway, I thought it looked cool with my spiffy new haircut.

Finally, food pictures:

Pumpkin Soup

Duck.  I’d never had it before, and it tasted kind of like beef.  So I wasn’t a fan.

Melting chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream.  It was so gooey the first night.  Yes, I did have it twice more over the week. 😀

After dinner we had some time to kill before the show that evening, so we went up to the 9th deck and had a drink:

This was called “Kiss on the Lips” and made with mango puree.  I was so full from dinner though that I could barely drink it (or feel the rum).  Matt had fun playing with the umbrella that came with it.

We made it to the 10:30pm show called “Le Jazz Hot”, which had a few great numbers in it.  The singers and female dancers were pretty good, but the male dancers were a bit lacking of technique.  Oh well, still VERY entertaining.

Upon our return to our cabin, we discovered a towel animal, two chocolates, and itinerary for the next day:

I am taking a poll to see what you think this animal (and any of the upcoming animals) is?

There’s post #1, I think there will be four of them.

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Cruise. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I could totally cheat on the towel animals, because we bought the Carnival book on our cruise that tells how to make them all! 😛

  2. WOW…your cabin is HUGE! Nice digs for a cruise ship…definitely!

  1. Pingback: 2010 Resolutions, Mid-Year Check-In « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  2. Pingback: Rear View Mirror 2010 « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

