Wedding Planning Extravaganza

Holy cow what an exhausting day.  I didn’t sleep very well (don’t know if it was nerves or the fact that my mom was hogging the bed), so I finally started sleeping when it was time to get up.  Ain’t that always the way?

Our day started with tours of three reception venues.  All very nice and informative. I apologize for the lack of pictures.  My mom was taking pictures and notes, while I was soaking it all in.

After that (which was exhausting and left ZERO time for food), we raced back to my friends house for a quick PB&J.  There were also some wardrobe malfunctions that precipitated this trip, but (BUTT) we won’t go there.

So we made it to the bridal shop with an hour and half or so to try on dresses. Along with two of my bridesmaids, we were joined by mom and the mom of one of my bridesmaids.  Luckily, the two bridesmaids graciously played fashion show and tried on at least 30 dresses!!  I’ve known all along that I wanted to give the girls choices, so we were looking through the choices and deciding what kind of parameters to give them.  Anyway, to make a long story short, we decided to go with Alfred Angelo, cobalt, chiffon, cocktail length.  They can choose the dress.  We have like 5-6 months to order them, so we should be good.  Here are two of our favorites:

Obviously these are NOT my bridesmaids.  I will not embarrass them with unflattering pictures in dresses that were either too big or too small or in ugly colors.  My mom and my friend’s mom were unsure at the BRIGHTNESS of the blue, but I think it’s PERFECT!  I love this color.  I hope it’s not too overwhelming.  That’s what accessories and flowers are for, right?

After dresses, we grabbed a bite, picked Matt up from the airport, (got him some Skyline Chili Coneys), stopped by a venue for another look, and then of course got some GRAETER’S ICE CREAM!  He was a happy Penguin!

Up for tomorrow: a photographer, another venue, visiting with my dad, brother, and future sister-in-law, and dinner at the Boathouse.  I really should take more pictures tomorrow.  I was just so exhausted today!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Posted on May 7, 2010, in Uncategorized, Wedding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That is a FABULOUS color!!! Love it!!! And I think it is neat that you are going to let all your bridesmaids pick there own stlye of dresses. How many bridesmaids will you have!! Keep the wedding updates coming…I am loving all of it! haha! 🙂

  2. I like the blue. I think for a spring wedding, it will stand-out perfectly. And with the right flowers it be great. I, too, am going with short dresses. They have 3 choices….I think that’s the nice thing to do. Glad to hear you are making progress. Oh, and Brett has 2 photographers in his family so that was easy – they are both doing it! 🙂

  3. I love the color and styles of the bridesmaids dresses! The top one is my fave. Its very kind of you to let the bridesmaids pick out their dresses.

    • I liked the top one from online, and surprisingly, my bridesmaids liked it in the store, too!! My bridesmaids are so different in shapes that it’s only natural that they should pick out their own dresses.

  4. I really, really like those dresses!! The color is gorgeous too!

  1. Pingback: Taste of Cincinnati « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

  2. Pingback: Flash FORWARD Friday « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

