Meet my new personal trainer!

She’s 11 yrs old, and just wants me to play with her at lunch time on Wednesdays!!  I went to visit my little sister today and she decided to give me a training session, because she’s sick of me not running around with her in the gym.  Yes, I could use more pep in my step, but to be fair (A) I have never been an “athlete” as in I played sports, but was never great at them and (B) I have these things called boobs that just need more support when running, and thus I can’t run that fast for that long in my work clothes!

Anyway, she does have a great point.  I was in a great habit of going to the gym, but then the PE happened, our cruise, traveling for wedding planning, and, to top it off, our gym membership expired!  Well that was taken care of Monday evening, so I can now hit it up!!

Training for a 3.5 mile Corporate Challenge

Five weeks from tomorrow (Thursday), I’m running in the 3.5 mile JPMorgan Chase Corporate Challenge in downtown Boston as part of our company’s team.  Mondays we have training runs.  I haven’t been training very hard, but was pretty proud of myself this past Monday.  I ran a mile, walked 2/3 of a mile, then ran a second mile!  WOO HOO!!  We’re not fast, but building up stamina!

To help train myself (and get faster to compete with my 11 year old little sister), I’ve decided to pick up the last few weeks of the Couch to 5K Program.  Tonight was Week 5 Day 1.  I can’t even tell you how much I had to talk myself into going to the gym.  I really wanted to sit at home and play with wedding stuff (AKA not be productive), but I had told multiple people that I was going to the gym.  Plus, as I like to say, “I’ve never REGRETTED going to the gym.”

Workout for Today:

To ease back into the gym and running I did the following weight lifting:

  • Cable rotation, 30 lbs, 12x (2 sets)
  • Cable chest press, 30 lbs, 12x (2 sets)
  • Rope twist on knees, 50 lbs, 15x (2 sets)
  • Tricep pull with rope, 40 lbs, 12x (2 sets)
  • Sit ups on stability ball with medicine ball, 15x
  • Lunges up ramp, 12 lb weights, 10x each leg
  • Squats with medicine ball, 12x
  • Extend and crunch (like boat pose in pilates) 12x

Then C25k W5D1:

  • Jog 5 minutes @5.3mph
  • Walk 3 minutes @3.5mph
  • Jog 5minutes @5.3mph
  • Walk 3 minutes @3.5mph
  • Jog 5 minutes @5.3mph

Was this my best work out ever?  No.  Did it feel great to move and stretch afterwards?  INCREDIBLE!!

Do you love going back to the gym after an absence?  What training programs have you used?

Tomorrow we’re going wedding dressing shopping at Priscilla of Boston.  We’ll see how it goes!?!

Posted on May 19, 2010, in Running, Weight lifting. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You have an 11 year old sister? My sister and I are 12 years apart. It’s rare that I find someone else who has such a gap in age with their sibling!

    • Clarification: she’s from Big Brother Big Sister.

      However, I do have a 13 year old brother (15 year age gap). He’s from my dad’s second marriage.

      It is very rare. When he was born, I couldn’t be alone with him in public places, or I’d get nasty looks. I wanted to shout “No! He’s my brother!”

  2. Your little sister sounds so cute! How long have you been doing that for?

    I am doing the Corporate Challenge too!! Good luck in your training!

Leave a Reply

