Some fun work related items

Today marked the beginning of a 12 week competition at work called “Shape Up the Nation”.  Here’s the basics:

  • Join groups of 4-8 people
  • Compete in 1 to 3 categories
  • Total number of steps walked
  • Percentage weight lost
  • Total number of exercise minutes
  • The overall winner gets 8 hours of vacation!!

It’s a great way to promote fitness in the workplace.  My team, the “Social-Lights”, will strategize this week to figure out how to get those 8 hours of vacation!  Everyone who signs up gets a little “Shape Up the Nation” kit:

There’s a pedometer, a log book, and a wrist band.

We keep track on-line, which is also set-up a bit like facebook this year.  You can make a profile, make plans, keep track of goals (like steps or eating five veggies per day), communicate with your team members about your plans.   IF everyone participates, it could be incredible.  But it’ll probably just be “pretty okay”.  We shall see.  I’m totally up for getting an extra eight hours of vacay!  (Those 80 hours go by pretty quickly!)

Today, I actually walked over 15,000 steps, thanks to Monday night jogging!  We went three miles, today! Also, I have a secret weapon for walking: A DOG!

Since April went to day care today, and would presumably be exhausted, I thought about also hitting the gym (our engagement pictures are in like 6 weeks!).  However, we came home to find a reason to celebrate.  In lieu of the gym, we celebrated with ice cream:

Peanut butter cup for me.

Matt had chocolate cookie dough.  Now why is he smiling so big?

WE PASSED THE PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERING EXAM!!

SERIOUSLY!?!?!?!!?!?  We were both convinced that we had failed it!

The funny part of the night was when Matt called me just as I was finishing up our run, asking where I was.  I couldn’t understand why he was so anxious, considering I was coming home at the time I usually would on running days.  But, he was home for an hour with these unopened letters from Rhode Island Licensing Boards.  No wonder he wanted me to come home!

I’m still in disbelief that we passed.  I guess studying for 200 hours (taking Fridays off for 5 months), paid off.  Now I can fully focus on this wedding thing!!

In case you aren’t aware, this is a HUGE deal in my profession.  It’s one of the biggest hurdles.  It opens the door for raises and promotions!!

Posted on June 14, 2010, in Running. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. DUDE!!!!! YOU PASSED!!! That’s awesome!!!! congratufuckinglations to both of you!!! I’m so proud!

  2. HOLLAH!!!!! AWESOME! I am so proud of both of you!!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations!!!!!! I know that’s a big relief to have this behind you!

  4. Congrats on passing the engineer exam!!

    That shape up challenge seems really fun! can’t wait to hear more about it, and good luck!

  1. Pingback: 2010 Resolutions, Mid-Year Check-In « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

