Release the Secret Weapon!

(anyone else picture the mice in “An American Tale?”)

An alternate title for today would be:  how to increase your daily step count!

What is this secret weapon I speak of?  A DOG!!  Yeah, I said it the other day, but she makes me get out there and move.  Have I mentioned that Matt has already lost like 5 pounds due to his morning 3 mile runs with her?  My step totals for Monday and Tuesday were 15,000!!  DANG!  Of course Wednesday, she went to day care, so she came home and slept the entire night.  We had to wake her up for her night time walk. 

**Speaking of dogs, my wonderful friend, Nikki, works in Muncie, Indiana rescuing dogs.  She fosters so many.  This past week, she took in a pitbull, Gracie, who needs lots of care.  She at the brink of starving to death when she was picked up.  If you’d like to help with Gracie’s care, please let me know.  Watch the following video for more information about this terrible tragedy, that is about to be corrected.

Anyway, while April slept, we went to the gym.  I decided to do one my hardest lifting sessions:  KETTLEBELLS!

  • Kettlebell swings, 20lbs, 20X
  • Kettlebell clean & press, 20lbs, 10X each side
  • Lunges with kettlebell, 20lbs, 6X each side
  • Bicep curls, 10lbs, 20X
  • Kettlebell squats (hit ground with kettlebell), 20lbs, 25X
  • Run 5.5mph (1 minute), walk 4mph (1 minute), 3X
  • Back extensions, 10lbs, 12X
  • Side extensions, 10lbs, 12X each side
  • Medicine ball situps, 12X
  • Flutter kicks, 12X
  • Scissor kicks, 12X

Repeat twice.

Now last time I did this, my heart practically beat out of my chest.  This one keeps your heart rate up there!  However, since I’ve been running more recently, I didn’t find it as bad.  Actually, the worst part was that I haven’t been lifting for a while so that 20lb kettlebell was pretty heavy.  I even could have done this a third time, but decided to walk instead.  (My step count for yesterday was only 6200!) 

How do you balance cardio vs. weight training?  I always feel like I’m either concentrating on running, or lifting 3X per week.  There’s not much middle ground.

So I recently found out about some lurkers that have been reading (and actually enjoying!) my blog!  If you’re a lurker, leave a comment!  I’d love to find out who’s out there!

Thanks for that boost of confidence today!  🙂

Posted on June 17, 2010, in Weight lifting. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. helloooooo (lurk lurk lurk!)

    I think I found your blog in the Healthy Tipping Point comments section a while back, and I added it to my google reader! So I’ve been catching all your posts! I love google reader. Anyways, lurker no more! Here I am, you caught me!

    • Thanks, Tara! Good luck with the no-sodium diet. I don’t eat tons of salt, but it is in EVERYTHING!! Also have to a give a shout-out to Chi-town! I lived there for two semesters and seriously LOVE the city!

  2. I’m not very good at balancing cario versus strength-training. I find myself doing a lot more cardio than lifting, simply because I find it more enjoyable.

  3. Oh kettlebells are insane! I have a serious love/hate relationship with those things!

  4. That sounds like an awesome workout!

    I only like to do strength training if it involves cardio. I’ll do what you did you above… like run a little then do push ups, run a little more and do squats.

    I actually hate strength training so I have to throw cardio in there to keep me entertained.

Leave a Reply

