JP Morgan Chase Corporate Challenge

Last night was the 3.5 mile JP Morgan Chase Corporate Challenge in downtown Boston.  There are 12,000 runners/walkers who participate from like 200+ companies throughout Boston.  Here’s most of the team from my office:

Of course we had a bad thunderstorm and pouring rain literally right before the race, so I look like a drowned rat.

Anyway, we lined up actually pretty far behind the finish line, so it took almost 10 minutes before we “started” the race.  I was so excited to be using a chip for the first time!  Hooray for accurate times!

My race, well, it was not so good.  I’ve been having lower leg pain (like achilles and outside of the ankle) when I run which I believe means that (A) I need new shoes and (B) I need to stretch WAY more!  I ran the first mile, STRETCHED, walk/ran the next 1.66 miles (stretching as needed), then running the last 2/3 mile.  After a while I made a deal with myself:  walk one block, run two blocks.  Worked pretty well.  Then I ran right at the end.  I talked myself into that one, believe me.  The finish line is at the end of a street, so you can see it well before you reach it.  In lieu of staring at this finish line far in the distance, I would say “Ok, run to that lamp post, now run to that sign, etc.”  TA DA!  My official time was 43:46.  So not the best time ever (not my best time I believe), but I wasn’t gasping for breath at the end!  I really think it was the stupid legs.  Any thoughts?

Here’s a picture of me right as I began that last 2/3 mile run:

And guess who we ran into?  KATIE!

She used to work at my company, and somehow we always run into her at this thing.  Even with 12,000 people being there!!

After the race, we had dinner at the Sweetwater Cafe, then made it home around 11pm.  What a day!

Posted on June 25, 2010, in Running. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You are too flipping cute!!! Seriously I bet you a trip in real life! haha!

  2. As a runner (ahem!), I actually have input on this! 😉 Plus I’ve gotten feedback from other people who say the same.

    Leg pain is a crap shoot. There are days when I run and feel great the entire time. My shin splints don’t rear their ugly head and my muscles just want to go.

    Also, last night I was talking to Sarah about it and we were talking about the different things that can make a difference with pain and fatigue. One thing I’ve noticed is the shoes I wear before the run. If I wear flip flops at all before the run, I’m pretty much screwed. Strangely, I think heels help, or at least don’t hurt. Sarah mentioned that what she eats throughout the day really affects her run, which is totally understandable.

    I don’t deal with the pain well, though. Well, I mean, I don’t quit my run, but I spend the whole time kind of yelling at myself. The logic I use on myself is, “You WILL recover from this, so keep going.”

    So yeah, that’s my two cents. Well, my one cent and Sarah’s one cent. =)

    • See at first I thought it was a day shoe issue as well. I had worn 3″ heels all day, and my feet did NOT like running. Since then, I’ve either worn kitten heels or flats.

      I’m going to look at getting new shoes and stretching more.

      THANKS FOR YOUR $0.02!

      Oh yeah, and Kathleen and I had a big discussion on food vs. running. Definitely need to have some good food or you’re screwed.

      • See, I’ve been doing enormously better on a pre-dinner stomach (no meal since noonish). I run better and feel better and don’t have energy problems. Am I a weird case or what?

  3. Congrats girl! You did a great job. Sucks about your legs though.. don’t you hate when your body wont cooperate?

Leave a Reply

