Living up to the standards

Another weekend without plans.  So nice, but weird.

Friday night we went to Chili’s, since Matt has been drooling over their new cheeseburgers.  I got make your own fajitas, mostly just to get some guacamole.  🙂

The before:

The after:

Pretty tasty, although the chicken was a bit charred.  But the service was outstanding!  A+!

Saturday we made our way to cheap housewares Mecca:

Matt has never actually been to IKEA!  I was looking for some candles and vases for a centerpiece mockup.  But of course we had to start at the cafeteria.

Matt got some spaghetti and meatballs. I wasn’t so hungry, so I got some veggie soup and a chocolate chip cookie.  Of course, something happened to my chocolate chip cookie while I went to refill my drink:

SOMEONE TOOK A BITE OF MY COOKIE!  Matt wiped the chocolate off of his face and gave me an innocent look, before going to get a piece of chocolate cake.

Anyway, the weekend started on a bit of a sad note.  My great aunt Jane passed away Saturday morning.  She was almost 85.  I can’t begin to tell you how close my family is, so this was very sad.  She was an amazing woman.  I am always so proud of the accomplishments of the women in my family.  Born in 1925, she went to school to be a registered nurse and work with the Army Nurse Corps during WWII.  She received a bachelors and masters in nursing.  She went to Purdue for her masters and lived near there for most of her life.  So she loved the fact that I (and her daughter and granddaughter) went there!  I heard a story last Thanks giving about how Aunt Jane was instrumental in helping all of the cousins (my mom’s generation) during their weddings.  At my mom’s (or aunt’s, I forget) wedding, the wedding topper fell over and broke the night before.  Aunt Jane to the rescue!  She fixed it and saved the day!  Our family will surely miss her.  Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make it to Indiana for the calling and funeral.  But I will go there in a few weeks for my grandmother’s 80th birthday.

This picture is from her granddaughter’s bridal shower.  She’s modeling the lingerie that the bride received.  This picture makes me laugh!

Here is a picture of her granddaughters (and me) at the bridal shower.  Aunt Jane, I can only hope to live up the standards that you and your mother and sisters have set for us.  Your granddaughters are already well on their way!

Posted on July 25, 2010, in Eating Out, Just Me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a good looking crew!!! WOW!

Leave a Reply

