Celebrating My Grandmother!

You may have been wondering?  WHERE IN THE WORLD IS CARM-ANNE SANDIEGO!?  Well I spent a long weekend in Richmond, Indiana.  Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus Richmond, Indiana.  This is where my family gathered to celebrate my grandmother’s 80th birthday.  Although, once you see the pictures, I may have to convince you that she is 80.  This woman can’t be a day over 60!  She drives all over tarnation (well from her house in Indiana to Delaware and Massachusetts), and travels all over the world.  Last year she visited Egypt and the Holy Land.  This year she took a three week cruise (with one of her daughters and granddaughters) through the Panama Canal!

Anyway, it was a busy weekend.  I was super-psyched to see my extended family.  Even though Matt and I have been engaged for almost 6 months, I haven’t seen most of my family since before then.  So we got to discuss wedding!

But back to the weekend.  We visited with my dad’s sister and mom (yay for family in the same town!) Saturday afternoon before dinner at the Olde Richmond Inn.

Here is the birthday girl receiving her present from her grandchildren:

It was a TLD (tacky little dish) purchased at Goodwill, due to her propensity to collect such rare items.

Dinner was actually delicious.  I had Cajun grilled tilapia (hesitant to get fish in the midwest, but it was DELICIOUS)

My grandmother and her children (my mom is on the right if you were wondering):

And with her children, their spouses, her grandchildren (and their intended spouses), and her siblings and their significant others:

Sunday morning we all went to 8:30 church (ugh!) then back to my grandmother’s for some brunch.  My stepbrother and sister-in-law came down from Chicago and brought the boys!  I was so excited!  I haven’t seen Owen (3, one of my ring bearers), since he was 2 months old.  And I’d never met Henry.  They are so adorable!  Here’s little Henry, just happy!

Finally we went over to the hall to decorate for the real reason for the weekend: THE PARTY!  Here’s the picture table dedicated to my grandmother:

There was a huge turnout.  And we ended the day with some singing!

Yes, we like to sing songs about moonshine!

It was a wonderful party, and my grandmother got to be queen for the day!

Posted on August 16, 2010, in Family. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

