Hey Mr. D.J.

Hi, remember me?  Sorry for the lack of posting as of late.  We’re swamped at work,which leaves very little time for extra curriculars (i.e. blogging and exercising!)

Anyway, today could be a considered an important day:  WE ARE NINE MONTHS BEFORE THE WEDDING!  Not only that, but yesterday (maybe midnight Thursday night?) marked the 6 month anniversary of us getting engaged!  Can you believe it?  I sure can’t.  It feels like it is going by fast, but on the other hand super slow.  We have a lot things booked/picked out/bought, but I feel like I should be doing more.  I think I’m just anxious to do something DIY.

Moving on, I did get the contract for the DJ!  WOO HOO!  So now I have 9 months to write down a “must play list” and a “DO NOT PLAY” list.  What’s funny is, that most of the songs on my must play list are probably on people’s do not play list.  What can I say, we like ’em.

Must Play List

  • Hokie Pokie – hello, we went to Virginia Tech, home of the HOKIES!  They play this song at every home football game!
  • Hail Purdue, Clemson’s Tiger Rag, Rocky Top – I’m guess these should be played as an homage to our alma maters.  Just have to figure out if the DJ has them.
  • Chicken Dance – did you know that Cincinnati is VERY German?  This song is played constantly at the Hofbrahaus.
  • Footloose – a dance special to my high school friends
  • Thriller – who wants to relearn it?
  • Single Ladies – for the bouquet toss, plus I.LOVE.IT.
  • Some Taylor Swift, Brad Paisley songs
  • Sweet Caroline

Do Not Play List:

  • Lots of slow songs – they kill the mood
  • Maybe the break-up songs listed here
  • Anything rap or with explicit language
  • More than one more group dance (other than the ones listed)??
  • I don’t know!

My friends and I are big dancers (literally, many of us took dance classes), so we love fun group dance songs and/or anything that you can just sing along to (think piano bar).  I surprisingly like songs like “Party in the USA” and “Bad Romance”.  They are just fun.  Of course, I don’t listen to pop music on a regular basis (COUNTRY ALL THE WAY), so my mind may be skewed.

I guess along with all with all of this I need to think of songs for us to enter to, first dance, parent dances . . . nine months . . . nine months

What songs are on your lists?  What songs do you love to hear at weddings?  What songs do you dread?

Time to head into the office (yes, on a Saturday)

Posted on August 21, 2010, in Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Group dance songs are fun, especially at weddings!

    Happy 6 month getting engaged anniversary 🙂

  2. Hey! I’m in the midst of wedding planning too. We went to a wedding in June where the couple’s first dance was “The Chicken Dance.” They are going to Germany for Oktoberfest for their honeymoon! The music should be what YOU want and it sounds like that’s what you’re doing! 🙂 Another good one to get everyone on the dance floor is” Come on Eileen.” Everyone can dance to that! I’ll send you a message about what we’re going to do for our first dance.

    🙂 Laura, your former Graeter’s work buddy.

  3. The Righteous Brothers make my skin crawl, so they should be avoided at all costs!

  4. The key to having people dance is three fold:

    1. You guys have to dance. I see a lot of wedding where the bride and groom never get on the floor outside the first dance and subsequently no one else does either.

    2. Open with a group number like Electric Slide, Cha Cha Slide or Cupid Shuffle.

    3. Follow it up with The Way You Make Me Feel or Don’t Stop til Ya Get Enough by MJ.

    Viola…you have an instant dance party. It almost doesn’t matter what is played after that as long as its recognizable and upbeat.

    Just my professional opinion:)

  5. Montel Jordan – This is How We Do It

    LOVE THAT SONG

  6. I guess I’ll be the lone dissenter (sp?). Dances like the electric slide, Cupid Shuffle, and the like make me think the DJ and/or bride and groom have zero creativity, and watching a bunch of middle-aged, shoeless women all try to dance makes me uncomfortable. All of those dances make me feel like I’m in middle school again. There are other ways to get people dancing than to have a 90s group dance.

  7. The Cha Cha Slide is my absolute least favorite song in the history of music. When it comes on I try to find ways to escape, but I do not know if it has the same repelling force to others. The Cupid Shuffle is more acceptable because it has been around for less time and has not reached the overplayed level of Cha Cha and Electric.

    What is Love by Haddaway will most likely get people on the floor, but could lead to neck injuries.

    My favorite fast song for weddings is Shout by the Isley Brothers. Even if people do not want to dance they can sing along.

Leave a Reply

