Flashback Friday: Birthday Edition

So today is my birthday.  I am 29. I was freaking out a bit, because I feel like I should have more of life figured out.  But then I think of the Sunscreen song:

Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your
life…the most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they
wanted to do with their lives, some of the most interesting 40 year
olds I know still don’t.

Anyway, how’s about some old pictures?  Unfortunately, I don’t have any digital versions of baby Anne, so the pictures are Facebook and later:

In 2004, my 23rd birthday was CRAZY.  I was a senior in college.  It started out with finishing Urban Hydraulics homework at 6am, haircut at 11am, lunch at Harry’s Chocolate Shop at noon, Architectural Engineering exam at 1:30, memorial service for our co-op advisor where I played the piano, birthday, and then seeing Miss Saigon.  (I told you it was crazy).  Of course the next day was crazy as well.  It was Purdue’s homecoming.  We were #5, Gameday was in town, and we were playing Wisconsin.  Then the fumble (still makes make upset):

Orton Fumble

Here’s a picture from the weekend before, when I went out with my friend, Beckey (whose birthday is 8 days before mine).

 

October Birthdays

 

Then I went out with my Purdue friends (must have been after Miss Saigon, but before Orton Fumble). Here’s Mellissa, Jess, and I.

Crazy Purdue Girls

In 2006, I was a bridesmaid for Brooke the day before my birthday.  I was serenaded by the Purdue Varsity Glee Club.  It was FABULOUS!

Matt and I had our first date the next day.  He surprised me with cupcakes after dinner when we went back to his place.  We watched Napoleon Dynamite.

In 2007, my girls in Boston took us out (another girl in my department, we have four women in our entire 40+ people department, has the same birthday as I do.)  We enjoyed tapas and the Jake Ivory’s Piano Bar, which used to be located next to Fenway Park.  That night was a playoff game (at Fenway) and the Red Sox won.  It was a crazy atmosphere.

 

Women enjoying tapas!

 

In 2008, I flew to Knoxville to pick up my boyfriend Matt.  He had just landed a job in Boston, and we were about to become roommates!  I flew down in order to drive up to Boston from Tennessee.  Along the way we stopped in Blacksburg, VA, home of Virginia Tech and PK’s pizza.  Of course we had to get some.  It was a Thursday night tradition in grad school.

We stopped on our journey, in Hershey, PA, where we spent a “Night of Romance” at the Hershey Lodge.  (I also believe that was another Red Sox playoff game where they came back from some huge deficit and played a billion innings).

 

Chocolate covered strawberries and champagne

 

Last year was a weird birthday, since we had an office wide mixer after work (at our office).  I learned that there were in fact THREE people in my office is share my birthday.  (Side note:  I know at least 7 people who have my birthday.  I went to elementary school with three other people who had the same birthday.  It was awesome, because we had so much sugar that day in class!)  Anyway, I came home a bit tipsy, and found my usual presents from Matt:

 

Bright Pink Roses Make Me Smile

 

 

Homemade Cupcakes

 

I’ve had some pretty great and memorable birthdays.  See, I kind of make a big deal out of it, and so everyone makes a big deal right back.  If that’s what you want, that’s what you have to do.  Here’s hoping my 29th birthday will be something great as well.

Posted on October 15, 2010, in Just Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy birthday again! Live the pics 🙂

    I wonder if I have digital pics of our shared party somewhere. Hmmm…

  2. I hope you had a great birthday!!! It seems like you have had a bunch of fun birthdays so I hope that yesterday was just as amazing!

Leave a Reply

