Wedding Things and the Return of Morning Exercise

First a few wedding related items:

MY DRESS ARRIVED!!  Yup MY dress, the one that belongs to me (and only me) and I will be wearing on May 21, 2011 when I marry the incredible Matthew!  Actually, it arrived three weeks ago, but there were scheduling issues, so I didn’t get to see it until Monday evening.  But that made it even more special.  Why?  Because my grandmother, Aunt Therese, and cousin, Elizabeth, came too! (along with my mother)  My grandmother actually wore a Priscilla of Boston dress back in 1953.  I need to get a picture of it for posterity.  And little 12 year old Elizabeth could barely sit still due to excitement.  It was a great time.  Since I won’t show you a picture of the dress, here’s a picture of the Priscilla of Boston in downtown Boston (on Boylston):

Well, with the sun and greenery, that is what the store looked like when I bought my dress in May.  Now that it’s November, imagine it being dark at 4pm.  Boo!

The other exciting wedding news:  we received our first gift!

My mom’s cousin, Linda, got so excited, she sent us some dishes early.  She gave the go ahead to use them for some “romantic dinners” before the wedding.  Perhaps they will be featured with some home-cooked goodness.

Morning Exercise

Yup, that dreaded word “morning” is creeping its way back into my vocabulary.  With our canine addition, our evenings are typically spent either taking a long walk or attending tap class.  So I know that if I want to go to the gym 3 times per week, I have to start getting my butt out of bed on Mondays and Fridays.  Since Matt wakes up at 6:15 to take April for her morning run, I figured this shouldn’t be too difficult.  However I had yet to actually accomplish my morning exercise goal.  Finally, this past Sunday, I informed Matt of my goal and told him to make me get up.  It worked!  I had a great 45 minute sweat session before work (it could have been longer, but I really like our comfy bed).  Now to make it a habit!

And speaking of hard workouts, let’s revisit box jumps!  How scary are they, I tell you!  For those who may not be familiar, a box jump is when you jump from the ground to a box (or the bench) in one single movement, like so:

(Source)

If you haven’t tried one, I think that they are truly as much of a mental exercise as a physical exercise.  When my trainer told me to do them, I spent a good five minutes testing the height with my right leg, before I went for it.  Have I fallen?  Yes.  Was I hurt?  Only a bit of a bruised ego.  I think the fall looks worse than it is.  And all of the other people ask if you are ok.  Whatever, I’m doing a box jump!  I rock!

Posted on November 24, 2010, in Morning Exercise, Registry, Wedding, Weight lifting. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It is SOOO much better to get your workouts done and out of the way first thing in the morning. I find I focus better at work and overall, am much happier. You’ll body will adjust back to it in no time! Good luck!

  2. Yay! That’s where I got my wedding dress too! Can’t wait to see yours 🙂 Good for you for getting into the morning work out routine…my workouts have left something to be desired lately!

  1. Pingback: Gifts, Guestbook, and a huGe check « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

