Cincinnati Food

So while I was in Cincinnati, I had some great food!  One night we went to TGIFridays with a huge gang of people.  I can’t even remember the last time all four of my dad’s kids were together with my stepmom’s family.

DSC02925DSC02926DSC02927

Somehow we ended up at Graeter’s TWICE!  The first time was as a reward to Matt, my dad, and little brother for going to the tux rental place.  The second time was simply an excuse to also go to get some allergy medicine.

DSC02929

I ventured away from a chip flavor and got their strawberry.  MMMM!!  Please ignore my crazy eye.  Have I mentioned that I am allergic to cats?  My dad has one and the second day my right eye suddenly turned bright red and watery.  I took some Claritin before the wheezing really started!! UGH!  I felt like I had the Bubonic plague!  Even the pastor asked me if my eye was okay.

We also ended up at Skyline twice.  Matt begged me for a third trip, but I declined to go three days in a row!

DSC02934DSC02935

Chili spaghetti (with beans and onions) and cheese coneys!  Chili spaghetti reminds me of when I was little.  Everyone else had chili spaghetti in the high school cafeteria, right?

And finally, I met Beckey downtown for lunch.  We went to this AWESOME place called It’s Just Crepes.  I’ve always associated crepes with French class and sweet fillings like strawberries and whipped cream, but they had incredible savory ones as well.  Here is the guy making the crepe:

DSC02930

He said that pictures were $5.  I told him that the check was in the mail.  After making the crepe, they are filled and folded:

DSC02931

And then SCARFED DOWN!  I got the Hawaiian one with mozzarella, cheddar, ham, pineapple, and brown sugar.

DSC02933

Beckey got the special Ultimate Veggie Pizza crepe:  Goat Cheese, Mozzarella Cheese, Spinach, Artichokes, Mushrooms, Red Peppers, Pizza Sauce and Pesto

DSC02932

Oh were they amazing.  It was like a sweet pita.  Mmmmmm . . . .  what is your favorite crepe filling?  Have you ever made them? I made them a few times in high school.  Maybe they will be making a return.

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Eating Out. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Nom nom nom! Crepes! So glad you came to lunch!

  2. Chili spaghetti? OMG that looks and sounds amazing!
    Gosh, all of that food looks so good!

  3. I like cheese/spinach crepes. With chocolate/strawberry crepes for dessert. And of course, I made them in high school French as well. 😛
    I’d like to make them again, but need a thinner pan…

  4. No! I have never heard of chili spaghetti but I want to try it!

  5. Reading about your eating adventures in Cincinnati is a bad thing to do just before lunch! I love Skyline, Graeter’s and crepes . . . I should have been there! For a real treat, try Nutella and sliced bananas in a crepe . . . heaven!

    • Glad I could help. But hey, aren’t you coming to Cincinnati in May? I don’t think it’d be hard to talk Matt into a trip to any of these places.
      I’ll have to try the nutella banana crepe.

Leave a Reply

