Dutch Oven Inside; Igloo Outside

I received a cast iron Dutch oven for Christmas (does anyone else think of something gross when they hear dutch oven?).  I finally broke it out and made some spaghetti sauce.  Start with a pound of ground turkey.

DSC02980

Add some fennel seed (to make it taste like sausage), minced onions, and red pepper flakes while it’s cooking.  Then stir in the left over jars of spaghetti sauce hanging around the fridge.

DSC02982

Let simmer!  VOILA!! 

I put mine over some penne and added peas (since I haven’t had a green veggie in a few days).

DSC02985

I may have added too much red pepper flakes, because it was VERY spicy.  I went through two glasses of water!  Best part of making spaghetti?  LEFTOVERS!!  I have lunch for today and tomorrow.  How do you make spaghetti?  Does it remind you of growing up? We seriously had spaghetti at least twice per week.  Once at my mom’s and once at my dad’s. 

You may have heard that Boston got some snow last night.  That brings our total to like 60” for the year.  And it’s ONLY JANUARY!  It took Matt and I an hour to dig out our driveway this morning.  But at least it got our blood flowing and the sweat pouring out!!  Unfortunately, we are seriously running out of places to put the snow!  Here is a picture of the pile in our front yard.

DSC02987

It is seriously taller than I am.  Poor April couldn’t get over the snow bank this morning for her walk!  Her walk this evening was a bit better.  And we saw some fun snow sculptures along the way.

DSC02988

It’s either a snow dog or Winnie the Pooh.

Posted on January 27, 2011, in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I like to make my spaghetti with big pieces of italian sausage in it, like my mom did when I was a kid. Healthy? Probably not. But so good!

  2. I love spagetti! Usually I saute onions and green pepper, throw in some tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, mushrooms….etc. Whatever I feel like. I just learned how to oven-roast tomatoes though. I can’t wait to try THAT out!

  3. I totally think the same thing when I hear dutch oven. I got one for Christmas and have been having fun trying some new recipes using it.

Leave a Reply

