Honeymoon Recap: Snorkeling at Hanauma Bay

For our second full day on Oahu, we decided to try the snorkeling at Hanauma Bay. (Anyone else find it ironic that the boy who refused to go to Europe on his honeymoon, because he wanted to “relax”, kept finding stuff for us to do?)

Hanauma Bay is a beautiful, protected bay on the southeast side of Oahu.

HanaumaBay

HanaumaBay2

While we waited for our safety video (a requirement to enter this National Park), we took aerial pictures of the bay.

DSC03408

And took pictures of the wildlife:

DSC03406

Is this a woodpecker?  We also spotted another mongoose, but were too slow with the camera. 

More of our Hanauma Bay photoshoot:

DSC03410DSC03412DSC03409

Aren’t those the most flattering pictures EVER?

After the video, it was time to make the climb down to the bay itself.  There is a little trolley that goes up and down.  It was like $1 on the way down and $2 on the way back.  We decided to just walk it ourselves.

We rented our snorkels, flippers, and goggles, and made our way out to the water.  Now, I’ve never snorkeled before, so it took a few minutes to get used to it.  It really freaked me out having to force myself to breathe through my mouth, but I eventually got the hang of it.  Matt figured it out, too!

img054

Not 5 minutes after we started snorkeling, we spotted a turtle!!  Unfortunately, the turtle was faster at running away, than I was with the camera.

img055

I swear he’s hiding under that rock!

Our first 20 minutes of snorkeling, we stayed in the very shallow part (the top part in the picture below).

DSC03413

We did this, because there were a lot less people.  Of course that was due to the shallowness of the area.  We were within inches of the coral, which not only we were not supposed to be touching, but also had sea urchins sitting on top.  We didn’t get stung.  However, I did get knocked into the coral by a wave.  I had a lovely scrape on my leg!  See how shallow:

img053

After discussing the shallowness with a park ranger, they told us that we should stick to the deeper side (the bottom part of the picture), where every one else was.  BOO!! 

We tried to stay to the outskirts of the coral this time.  The following are my attempts at pictures of brightly colored fish. 

img056

img057

img058img059

After snorkeling, we opted to lay out in the abundant sunshine, where we got our one and only sunburn.  I knew that the sun felt rather hot.

img052

Hanauma Bay was absolutely beautiful!  And rather affordable.  I’d highly recommend it to anyone looking for some relaxing beach and snorkeling time, even if you’re a first-timer like me!

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Honeymoon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. It takes me a while to get used to forcing myself to breathe through my mouth too. Looks like a great day for snorkeling!

  2. So fun!!
    For some reason I can breathe through my mouth to snorkel, but not to scuba dive.

    Looks like it was absolutely gorgeous!!

  3. I haven’t been snorkeling in years! Looks like a lot of fun you two had! 🙂

    Wish I were in Hawaii right about now!

  1. Pingback: Honeymoon Recap: Boots & Kimos « Strawberry Jam Packed Life

  2. Pingback: Honeymoon Recap: House Without a Key « Strawberry Jam Packed Life

Leave a Reply

