Where was I? 9/11/2001

On a day of remembrance (Seriously watched like 6 hours of stories on tv today), why not share my “Where as I?” story?

First of all, on Friday, September 7, I received an email from my mom.  It was entitled “My Week from Hell”.  How foreboding.  She sent an email giving her schedule for the next week.  She was going on a confirmation retreat for the weekend, then flying to NYC for a work conference.  After that she was flying to Atlanta for my stepdad’s high school reunion.

Tuesday, September 11, 2001 started with me putting on a pair of ugly brown pants and an off white short sleeve sweater.  I really didn’t like my outfit, but I didn’t have any other clean clothes. I was three weeks into my first co-op session at a civil engineering firm in downtown Indianapolis, so I had to look “professional”.  At 8:46am (which was 7:46am in Indy), I was on a bus on my way to work.  I got to work sometime after 8am (central time).  At this point both planes had hit the towers.  I had no idea.  I checked my email and waited for someone to give me my assignment for the day.  After a while of biding my time, I did a lap of our office and couldn’t find anyone.  I ended up hearing someone’s radio saying something about planes hitting buildings in New York.  When I returned to my desk, my stepdad was calling me.  He said “Planes hit the world trade center.” I replied, “Yeah I just heard something about that.”  Next he said “Your mom’s in New York.”  At that point, I didn’t know the severity of what was going on, but obviously I was worried about my mom.  My coworker finally came to me and we made our way down to the building’s first floor gym to watch the coverage.  I watched the towers fall while sitting on an exercise bike.  By noon, we didn’t know what to do.  Everyone was worried and panicked.  Our building was connected to the tallest building in Indianapolis.  Were we next?  We all decided to go home. 

I spent the rest of the day watching the news coverage.  I think that I even took a nap.  It was a beautiful, warm, sunny day in Indiana.  I received a call from that evening from my mom that she was okay.  She had been staying in a hotel next to the Empire State Building. 

Over the next few days she made it to my stepbrother’s condo in New Jersey, and then my aunt’s house in Delaware.  My stepdad ended up meeting my aunt in Pennsylvania to pick her up.  The next day at work, I learned that our boss was stuck in Chicago.  Since I didn’t have anything else to do, I made the 4 hour trek up to Chicago to pick him up.

That day will forever stick in my mind.  Before then, I’d never heard the name “Osama Bin Ladin” or the Taliban.  Four years later, my younger brother signed up for the Marines.  I am so grateful for him and all of the heroes of September 11 and since then who have protected our country and fought for the freedoms that we enjoy.

We will never forget.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Just Me. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries

    I love hearing everyone else’s story. None of us can ever forget where we were on that day. I had never heard of the Taliban, Osama Bin Laden, or even the World Trade Center. From that day forward, my eyes were opened to some of the horrible things in this world. Just found your blog and love it! 🙂

  2. very interesting..I can’t believe your mom was in New York! That must have been so scary for her. God bless your brother for all that he does for us.

Leave a Reply

