The Big 3-0

Well, I’m officially 30!  Since my 30th birthday was on a Saturday, I knew that I had to have a party.  We invited some friends over for make your own pizzas, some drinks, and cupcakes.  Baking cupcakes, I got to bust out the Kitchenaid Mixer for its maiden voyage!

DSC03912

I also used my silicon cupcake liners.  They worked great in the oven, and they’re reusable!

DSC03914DSC03915

For those asking, I used a triple chocolate cupcake recipe using cocoa powder, melted semi-sweet chocolate and chocolate chips!

We also used a bunch of our entertaining wedding gifts.  TA DA!

DSC03916

Cupcake tower, breadboard, lazy susan serving dish, and cheese board!

And my friends know me so well, I received a few bottles of wine for presents!  WOO HOO!  Now I don’t have to go back to the liquor for a week, maybe two . . ;P

DSC03922

So we did make your own pizzas and enjoyed each other’s company with random discussions of how people transgender (oh yeah, we went there), played some Euchre, and watched Clemson not blow it against Maryland!

DSC03917DSC03921DSC03920

And what did my new husband get me?  Oh he’s so smart.  Since we’re starting to train for a half marathon, he looked into running gadgets, and bought me a Garmin Forerunner 405.

Garmin_405-360x316

I thought about asking for one, but I didn’t.  He found it all on his own.  Smart boy!

It was a great 30th birthday, and I feel lucky to have such great friends and family.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Just Me, Using Wedding Gifts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Omigosh you will LOVE the Garmin watch! My boyfriend and I both have that one too and we’re obsessed. I don’t use half the stuff it does but it’s great for keeping on pace when you’re doing long runs. I had no idea you were training for a half — have fun and enjoy it! You’ll love when you cross that finish line! 🙂

    • Thanks, Liz! Just our short little 2 miler yesterday was fun to upload and review the stats. Turns out I like to run at a faster pace than I thought I did. It was very interesting/informative.

      • Ha, well mine confined I’m actually slower than I thought, so I just like looking at the calories burned. 🙂

        And I had no idea there were silicon cupcake wrappers … I’m very interested in these now!

  2. Happy birthday! You got some great gifts 🙂

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GIRL! Looks like a great party and way to celebrate: wine, cupcakes, pizza, friends, football, fun. 🙂

    I’m in love with your mixer! What a gorgeous color!

  4. happy birthday! I agree that blue color is great! and neat silicone liners!

  5. You’ll love the Garmin! My man was smart to get me one too. 🙂 Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

