Crockpot Enchiladas!

After his second helping of this, Matt declared that it is his favorite thing that I have made so far.  Of course, it’s not the healthiest thing.  Can anyone help?

echilada

DISGUSTING PICTURE!

Crock Pot Chicken Enchiladas

2 1/2 – 3 cups cooked chicken, shredded

24 oz. enchilada sauce (I used red sauce, the recipe called for green chile sauce, whatevs)

2 c. light sour cream

4-5 tortillas torn into strips (I used whole wheat high fiber ones that were sell by “08/2011”)

4 c. pepper jack cheese

1 onion chopped (yeah, like Matt would have approved the onions)

Put layer of enchilada sauce in bottom of crock pot.  Layer torn tortillas, sauce, cheese, chicken, sour cream.  I made three layers.  Top with cheese.  Cook on high for 2 hours or low for 4-5 hours.

Now I think I might add some black beans and corn to add some “veggies”.  Any other suggestions?  Matt hates onions and peppers.  I might add some guac, too.  But then, I love guac. 

Okay, so not the healthiest, but probably healthier than eating out.  And cheaper, too. 

Any other additions?

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like to use greek yogurt in place of sour cream. Definitely add more veggies.

Leave a Reply

