10 Miles! Check!

Well finished the final long run of my training.  It wasn’t the greatest, but it’s finished!

Since my usual route is only 6.5 miles long, I decided to switch it up and run a great route from Cambridge to Boston and back.  It was a beautiful day in Boston (45 degrees when I started) and there were lots of people along the way. 

I started right by Soldiers’ Field Road (by Harvard Stadium):

10miles4

Then past Harvard/ Cambridge

10miles510miles610miles710miles8

In that first picture, I was trying to capture a guy that had been rowing on the Charles River.  He was only wearing a little rowing outfit. I kept thinking how chilly he must be, especially if his boat tipped over.

I was actually a bit over dressed in my longsleeves, fleece vest, hat, gloves, and pants.  I was afraid that it would be really chilly along the river with wind and such.  So I ended up taking off my gloves after 2 miles.  I would have taken off my hat, but it keeps my earbuds in my ears.  Also, I decided to stay on the southern side of the river, since it was in shadow much of the time and kept me pretty cool. 

My turn around point was the Esplanade and the Hatch Shell.

10miles910miles1010miles1110miles13

That’s the hatch shell, but I forgot to take my phone out when I ran past it.

I got back to my car at 9 miles, so I had to run past it  for 0.5 miles and get another mile in.  Starting around 8 miles, I started having cramps and my right shoulder started hurting.  For that last 0.5 miles, I turned on my closer song and just danced while I ran attempting to forget the pain.  What’s my closer song?  “You Can’t Stop the Beat” from Hairspray.  Seriously, I dance to the “motion of the ocean”. I don’t care how crazy I looked.  I was RUNNING!

I challenge you to not dance to this song.   I always listen to it when I need a huge pick me up in a run.

So here’s the stats from my Garmin (geez love the Garmin Connect to see how I was running.)

10miles3

10miles

So, not my 12:00 min/mile pace that I like to keep.  But see my 6 minutes of stoppage time?  Yeah, stupid Cambridge intersections.  There were only two or three of them, but I definitely stayed there for a few minutes.  Especially this one where there wasn’t a walk sign (just a cross-walk painted).  When I finally thought that I had a chance to go, I ended up getting honked at by a bunch of people who wanted to turn right.   I politely informed them that  it was a cross-walk (which you are required to stop for in Massachusetts.)  Okay, there might have been some colorful language.   Apparently I get road rage even when I’m not in a car!  Stupid Boston drivers!  I take all honks as a personal affront!

Phew, anyway, 10 miles! 

10miles2

I love looking at the stats and the little player on my Garmin connect.  Now just a week from today, I’m supposed to do 13.1 miles!!  Here goes nothing!

Done any long runs lately?  What’s one of your favorite songs to pump you up?  Do you also hate Boston drivers?

Posted on February 20, 2012, in Music, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

