April Randomness

Well the calendar has turned to the month of April.

AprilCalendar

Who is that cute dog?  Smile with tongue out

I’ve been doing the 30 Day Shred, however it hasn’t been so easy to find 20 minutes in the evening.  Last week I worked really late several days, and didn’t want to work out at 10pm, even if it was for 20 minutes.  So this week, I’m challenging myself to get up and do it in the morning.  (Confession: tonight I did it while I dinner was in the oven and not in the morning).

So how is it going?  CHALLENGING!  The workout is made up of (3) 6 minute circuits, with 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs.  For me, the first circuit kicks my butt!  It’s 30 seconds of push-ups and then 1 minute of squat and presses, then repeat.  The combination of those two make my arms jell-o by the second round of pushups.  I used to be so good at pushups; I don’t know what happened.  Oh wait, I trained for a half marathon and stopped doing strength training.  The other part that kills me in the first circuit is the cardio.  It’s not that I get tired.  It’s that my feet hurt.  Constantly jumping really hurts the bottom of my feet.  This is something that’s always happened to me.  I even made sure to buy cross-training shoes, and they still hurt.  Anyone else have this issue?  Since they really hurt today, I’m wondering if it’s the heels that I wear all the time.  Hmmmmmm . . . .

In other news, here’s to making food at home this week!  We went to the grocery last night (which apparently were almost all closed early due to the holiday.  The third one we tried at 8:30pm was only open for more minutes.  UGH!).  Tonight’s dinner was a pasta bake based on this recipe:

PastaBake

I used whole wheat penne and ground turkey and added a random can of olives.  It was pretty darn tasty. 

Anybody else get their butt kicked with 30 Day Shred?  What’s on your weekly menu?  Don’t you hate when you live in New England and grocery stores aren’t 24 hours!?!

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Food, Weight lifting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Lovely blog! Dinner looks delicious. I’ve never done the 30 day shred but I’ve heard others who’ve had great results!

    I had Italian inspired dishes planned last night. Tonight is Greek inspired 🙂

    I love grocery shopping and cooking at home! I’m making homemade whole wheat pita pockets as I type this!

    • Mmmm . . . pita pockets! I’d recommend the 30 day shred just as a quick way to workout. At least I can say that I did something active today!

  2. Catalina @ Cake with Love

    They arent in US 24 hours so I see your frustation!!

Leave a Reply

